• Picture


    The Maud Hart Lovelace Book Award is a Minnesota Children's Choice Book Award. Its purpose is to encourage recreational reading among upper elementary age children.
    Nominated titles are works of fiction of recognized quality selected by a panel of reading groups.
    Here is how the award works:

    Each year ten chapter book nominees will be announced.

    Students who read three or more of the nominated books will be able to vote.

    Voting will take place in March.

    The award winner will be announced each year between April 18 and 25. New nominees will be announced at the same time.


    2017-2018 Winners

    1st Place
    by Cynthia DeFelice
    2nd Place
    Turn Left at the Cow
    by Lisa Bullard
    3rd Place
    Dinosaur Boy
    by Cory Putnam Oakes

    2018-2019 Nominees

    Division I - grades 3-5

    • The Book Scavenger by Jennifer Chamblis Bertman
    • Crenshaw by Katherine Applegate
    • Enchanted Files: Cursed by Bruce Coville
    • Fish in a Tree by Lynda Mullaly Hunt
    • Fuzzy Mud by Louis Sachar
    • The Hero Two Doors Down by Sharon Robinson
    • Last in a Long Line of Rebels by Lisa Lewis Tyre
    • Soar by Joan Bauer
    • The Terrible Two by Mac Barnett
    • Webster: Tale of An Outlaw by Ellen Emerson White