School Board Election

The school board of St. Michael-Albertville Public Schools has six members who are elected at large to four-year terms. Elections for school board members are held on the first Tuesday after the first Monday of November in even-numbered years. The next scheduled election for school board members is November 6, 2018.

Beginning July 31, 2018, Affidavits of Candidacy are available from the District Office, 11343 50th Street NE, Albertville, Minnesota, Middle School West (Door A). Election materials can also be found under "Candidate Forms" below.

The filing fee for this office is $2.00. A candidate for school board must not have any other affidavit on file for any other elected office during the same general election.

A candidate for the school board must meet the following qualifications:

  • Must be eligible to vote
  • Will be at least 21 years old on assuming office
  • Will have been a resident of the school district for 30 days prior to the election
  • Is not registered as a convicted sex offender (a sex offender who has been convicted of an offense for which registration is required under MS.243.166 is ineligible to become a candidate. MS.204B.06, subd. 1; 205A.06, subd. 1b)

Individuals must meet the following requirements to vote in a school board or General Election:

  • Be at least 18 years old on election day
  • Be a citizen of the United States
  • Be a resident of Minnesota for 20 days immediately preceding Election Day
  • Finished with all parts of any felony sentence
  • You can vote while under guardianship unless a judge specifically has revoked your right to vote
  • You cannot vote if a court has ruled that you are legally incompetent

Important Election Dates 2018

  • July 31 to August 14: Candidate filing period for General Election. Applications will be accepted in the District Office, Middle School West (Door A), 11343 50th Street NE, Albertville, MN 55301, 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. (5:00 p.m. on the final day, August 14)
  • August 16: Last day for candidates to withdraw (no later than 5:00 p.m.)
  • September 11: Optional School Board Candidate Orientation
  • November 6: General Election Day
  • November 16: ISD 885 School Board canvass results
  • December 5: Last day for candidates to file Campaign Financial Report Certification of Filing form (within 30 days of general election)

Contact Information

For information about the policies and procedures of the ISD 885 school board, please contact:

For further information about school board elections, contact the ISD 885 school district Election Clerk, Kaitlin Lanners 763-497-3180.

Candidate Forms

Candidate Resources

Minnesota Secretary of State

Minnesota School Board Association (MSBA)

Campaign Signs