Lead in Water

STMA has a Lead In Water Management Plan. Districts must have a plan and test every five years per state statute. The plan is reviewed annually. The plan involves sampling potable water sources (250ml) and analyzed by an accredited testing laboratory, using EPA approved analytical methods and quality control procedure (ICP/MS EPA Method 200.8). Water sampling of the identified potable water sources is conducted as a “first draw” sample prior to usage on the day of sampling. The water taps included in the first draw sampling should not be used for 6-18 hours prior to sampling.

Sampling began during the 2001-2002 school year and will continue every five years thereafter. St. Michael-Albertville school district tested four schools in the 2013-2014 school year and the other four schools in the 2014-2015 school year. The results in 2013-2014 testing showed two potable water sources with levels above the recommended 20 ppb threshold. The water sources were retested and the results were below the 20 ppb threshold (The fixtures were replaced). The results in 2014-2015 testing showed one potable water source with levels above the recommended 20 ppb threshold (The fixture was replaced and the water source is not for drinking or food preparation). Should levels of lead in water be detected at or above the acceptable threshold limit, the district would investigate and implement corrective measures to reduce occupant exposure.

The district will conduct LIW testing in FY19 for Albertville Primary, Big Woods, Middle School West, and Middle School East and in FY20 for Fieldstone, Community Ed, St. Michael Elementary, and STMA High School.

Download LIW STMA Plan

Radon Management Plan

The district is not required to take samples or have a plan. However, we have taken samples and have a Radon Management Plan. The plan is reviewed annually. The plan involves conducting air sampling for the presence of radon using a long term (>90 day) radon alpha track detector. The selection of sample locations is based on risk factors which may influence the likelihood of the presence of radon such as basement level spaces or rooms with access to crawl space air plenums. Sampling began during the 2005-2006 school year and is conducted every five years. The most recent round of testing throughout the district occurred during the 2014-2015 school year. The results showed no levels above the recommended 4 pCi/L threshold. Should levels of radon be detected at or above the acceptable threshold limit, the district would investigate and implement corrective measures to reduce occupant exposure.

Download Radon Management Plan

Health and Safety Committee Members

Committee Main Contact - Amy Satterfield
Committee Chairperson - Terry Zerwas
Committee Vice Chairperson - Ginny Verbrugge

Last Name First Name Position Building E-mail
Aanerud Jeanette Principal Fieldstone Elementary jeanettea@stma.k12.mn.us
Bebeau Brian Lead Custodian St. Michael Elementary brianbe@stma.k12.mn.us
Becker Lisa Kids Play Coordinator Community Education lisab@stma.k12.mn.us
Birk Douglas HR Middle School West douglasbi@stma.k12.mn.us
Danielson Scott Industrial Technology High School scottd@stma.k12.mn.us
Derauf Katie Administrative Assistant Middle School West kadiede@stma.k12.mn.us
Gammell Terese Teacher Paraprofessional Albertville Primary tereseg@stma.k12.mn.us
Hanson Corey PE Teacher Big Woods Elementary coreyh@stma.k12.mn.us
Henrikson Sara Art Teacher High School sarahe@stma.k12.mn.us
Maas Lisa Special Education Teacher High School lisam@stma.k12.mn.us
Morin Joe Work Comp SFM joe.morin@sfmic.com
Paul Jeffrey Science Teacher Middle School East paulj@stma.k12.mn.us
Peatrowsky Joe Science Teacher High School josephp@stma.k12.mn.us
Satterfield Amy Health & Safety IEA amy.satterfield@ieasafety.com
Verbrugge Ginny Business Directory District Office ginnyv@stma.k12.mn.us
Winkelman Julie Distrcit Nurse District Wide juliew@stma.k12.mn.us
Woolery Elaine Lead Cook Fieldstone Elementary elainew@stma.k12.mn.us
Zerwas Terry Buildings & Grounds Director District Wide terryz@stma.k12.mn.us

 

Safety & Injury Prevention Suggestion Form

Independent School District 885 encourages employees to be involved in the future success and growth of the safety program by identifying hazards and/or providing recommendations for a safety improvement.

The following suggestion provides information regarding either a safety improvement or the recognition of a safety hazard which will prevent injury and promote a safe working environment. Please include as much information as possible.

* Name:
 
Contact Information (Phone, Email - Optional):
 
* Type of Concern:
  General Health & Safety
Environmental
Security
Fire
Other (Describe Below)
* Location/Building:
  Albertville Primary
Big Woods Elementary
Fieldstone Elementary
St. Michael Elementary
Middle School East
Middle School West
High School
Community Ed. Center
District Wide
Room Number (If Applicable):
 
* Date and Time of Occurance:
 
* Please describe the condition you observed.
 
Enter Letters For Verification
* Required Fields